State-owned protected areas

17) Establish state-owned protected areas, covering approximately 700,000 hectares, related to the implementation of national conservation programmes and other areas reserved for protection, and the Natura 2000 network of protected areas. Update regulations on the present network of protected areas.
Responsible institutions: Ministry of the Environment

Schedule: 2013–2020

Status in 2018: State-owned protected areas have been founded in Southwest Finland, Saimaa and Suomussalmi regions, and in the southern part of Northern Ostrobothnia and in Eastern Lapland. These areas cover 280 000 hectares of the final goal of 700 000 hectares.

The foundation of additional protected areas is being prepared in Western Lapland, Oulu region, Central Ostrobothnia, Southern Savonia, Southern Karelia and Uusimaa. When these areas (195 000 ha) have been founded, about 68 % of the final goal (475 000 ha) has been achieved.