The nationally important ecosystem services were identified with the help of CICES (The Common International Classification of Ecosystem Services) classification on ecosystem services. CICES is developed to standardise the use of terminology of ecosystem services to improve comparability of environmental accounting and ecosystem assessments. The classification is developed by the European Environment Agency (EEA). 

In CICES, ecosystem services are divided into three sections; provisioning, regulating and maintenance, and cultural services. This structure is followed also in this website (version 4.3). CICES uses also subcategories (division, group).

CICES version 4.3.


Table. Comparison between the CICES classification, cascade model and Finnish ecosystem service indicators ( click table to enlarge!)



Discuss this topic

Start the discussion ยป

Add comment

If you have trouble reading the code, click on the code itself to generate a new random code.

Your message will be sent for moderation. New comments are usually published on the next workday.

Hide comments